Home » Business » You Don’t Have To Answer The Phone Just Because It Rings

You Don’t Have To Answer The Phone Just Because It Rings

On my personal phone, I only pick up when it’s my mom, my sisters, my dad, my wife, my kids or my best friend. Everyone else is invited to leave a voicemail message. If it wasn’t important to them, it isn’t to me. If you aren’t expecting a call, and the number doesn’t ring a bell, let voice mail handle it. What’s left of your privacy should be important to you. Protect it.

Also, please do not give your name or number to anyone online unless you really mean it. If you’re ordering something at Amazon.com, or Sears, or Powell’s Books; that’s fine. If you really want to go to college, or you want to join a club or the National Guard; that’s fine, too. But if you’re not sure who is getting your info, don’t leave it. Go to a site that isn’t asking for it.

The job posting websites are great at this. If you see a job at Career Builder or Monster, try to find out who is offering the job and go directly to their website. Apply there. Tell them Career Builder referred you. Then everyone is happy. If the job posting doesn’t say who is offering the job, do you really want to work for that company?

A lot of people make money selling your name and number online. Don’t make it an easy buck for them.

2 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Answer The Phone Just Because It Rings

  1. So true…if I don’t recognize a number, I don’t pick it…I don’t like talking on the phone anyways plus my ringer is never on, so you would never hear my phone ring…don’t know if that’s a good thing but the noise drives me nuts…enjoyed reading this!

Leave a Reply

