Home » Business » Would You?

Would You?

If your future self from the distant future came to you today and said that the way things turn out, you never get to be a successful writer, chef, painter, sculptor, singer, composer, philosopher, saint; would you still keep at it?

Does it matter if no one remembers you 100 years from now?

I’m just curious what drives people.

When I was a kid I was sure I could be a great professional baseball player. I could pitch, hit, run. But by 15 I realized I wasn’t good enough to get to the next level, so I stopped. But there have to be more successful professional athletes than professional novelists. Why do we persist against lottery-esque odds?

I’d like to know what motivates you to create something, even though there’s a great chance no one but your close friends will ever know what you did.

12 thoughts on “Would You?

  1. To write is the reward in itself, the odds of becoming successful increase the determination to make the effort.
    Good post, thought provoking.

  2. Because it really doesn’t matter at what the world would view as successful. What matters is your True Self and your True Nature. I am a Shit Artist but I still paint and draw. We need to do what we love. We need to create. TD Jakes (and I am not a Christian) but I love this guy, said in regards to a Life Purpose, and I paraphrase, ” that we are all not talented to a level of professionalism but that doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do it.” Or something like that.

  3. Pingback: Inspriration | Mastodon Mike's Weird Show

  4. You really know how to open a can of worms! Good work at making us all think. That was your job for today. I’m not even a remotely good writer but write I must. If something I write affects even one other person in a positive way, I am a success. That’s my aspiration. Teach and learn. As for the Art thing, take a look at quilters. They create, demonstrate, show their work and judge usually with kindness. In one of my blogs, I said I was searching for that creative bone in my body. It really is missing but nature makes me pretend I have one anyway. We were supposedly made in God’s image. God creates. So must we. Good, bad or indifferent. The only way to stop is to find the off switch and I’m just not ready to give up yet. Keep writing and making us think.

  5. Yeah, I agree with bluebutterfliesandme. We’re born to create. I think any writer who does it with money in mind isn’t going to make anything worthwhile, even if they do make money. So…if I found out my writing would amount to nothing in the future, I wouldn’t change a thing.

  6. It is the desire to communicate something. Money is great but it does not make you happy. Creating, whether it be writing, painting or whatever, is to me a human need. It is an outlet of the person within. I have spent the last three years writing a book. I wish it to be successful but there is never a way of knowing. Writing for others is definitly not the key. True art comes from a need/desire to communicate something to others but whether another chooses to take up the communication is separate from the act of creating.

Leave a Reply

