Home » Book Review » The Process of Writing a Novel

The Process of Writing a Novel

Sometimes blog posts are meant to communicate something to one’s readers. But today’s post is more a note to self. But go ahead and read along anyway.

Now that I have the draft completed of my work in progress, the next step is editing. I don’t dislike editing. I just don’t love it. There’s something thrilling about composing new material, like watching your kid do something they’ve never done before, like watching the light go on in their head. Editing is more like correcting their manners or bad behavior, or changing a diaper.

So as a reminder to myself, and a diversion from the grueling editing I get to do now, I have listed below the steps I take in novel writing. Each day I’ll post a paragraph or two on one of these subjects, and link them all back here, too, in case anyone thinks it is/was useful.

Enjoy!

Concept

Outline

Composition

Inspiration

Character Editing

Line Editing

Beta Testing

Self-Publishing/Self-Marketing or Marketing to Agents

Leave a Reply

