Home » Creative Revolution » Hedonism is Killing the American Empire

Hedonism is Killing the American Empire

I’m sure the United States is not the only obese country on the planet. But man are we fat. And it’s not just because we eat heaping plates full of food. We eat heaping plates full of high-fat, high-sugar, high-salt foods. And then we sit on our butts and watch TV shows or reruns of TV shows, or Blue Ray movies, or hang out in Facebook all day. Few of us remember what shows we watched yesterday.

My doctor recently told me my blood sugar was 143 after going 12 hours without eating (it’s supposed to be under 100). So I decided to fix that pronto. The first thing I did was to start reading labels. I didn’t do much of that in the past because I didn’t want to see just how awful my food was. A can of chili had 100% of the daily sodium. A can of spinach had 75%. A 4-ounce portion (one breast) of frozen, seasoned chicken had almost half of my daily sodium.

So I had to change everything. I started measuring portions, reading labels, researching lower fat options, lower sodium, much lower sugar options. It’s really hard because most of what is on the shelf at the store is total garbage. Almost everything you eat at a restaurant in one meal is more than you should eat in a day.

It’s really hard to keep your daily caloric intake under 2000.

And I had to get off my butt and exercise. I don’t really like exercise because it takes time and it makes me sweaty.

But I’ve lost 20 pounds so far, and intend to lose 60 more.

Part of what makes it hard to get in shape and stay in shape is that we live in a culture of hedonists. I’m one. You might be one, too. I want it all, and I want it now. If we have ten of something, and only need five, we sure as hell want twenty, whatever it is. That goes for food, toys, clothes, and most everything else.

I have an image in my head of 100,000 Visigoths storming into Rome, and all the Romans could do was snap pictures of it on their iPhones, and choke on their Big Macs.

Did I say Romans?

Leave a Reply

