Home » Creative Revolution » Editing and Writing

Editing and Writing

I have been copy editing for some really talented writers. I love the work. So I have been trying to approach my own writing with the same objective eye as I have the works of others. My newest project, Killing Oak, has been less about trying to be cute or profound, and more about telling a story. It has ghosts, Alzheimer’s, romance and sex. That’s really enough.

So I have been going over yet another of my older projects, trying to see how I can make it better. Turns out it’s chock full of cute and profound, but not as much about telling a story. This one has, as it turns out, nine story lines. So today I did the logical thing. I broke it into nine stories. Edgar Lee Masters did it with Spoon River Anthology, right? Yes, I know those were poems.

This way the main story line won’t be cluttered with eight other plot lines.

One thought on “Editing and Writing

Leave a Reply

